Being ‘fair’ is a cliche.

I often hear some girls say , ‘I wish I was a little bit more fair’ and some others say , ‘dammit everything suits those fair ones’ . I simply look at them and smile as my inner self roars into this unstoppable laughter marathon. Girls in India strive for that ‘fair hence pretty’ look and try everything from gold facials to expensive ‘fairness’ creams ; they would apply all sorts of  items available in their kitchen, all for the sake of a ‘fair and handsome’ prince charming, riding a white horse,  who would pick them up only if they are fair and ride into their magical kingdom . These mushy tales make me wonder why can’t I shoot them or why doesn’t the world really end?

Pick up any matrimonial classified column and the first requirement for a bride would be ‘fair and good looking ‘ like seriously this is where the word today ends up after hundreds of campaigns about educating the girl child and about letting a girl receive proper education , all you want is ‘her looks’ ? A girl’s education , her values , her personality comes after her skin color or doesn’t even matter at all? Get married to Barbie then. She is fair , plastic , pretty , doesn’t have any identity except her looks and is a doll that’s what you want right , A DOLL.

Some women come to my mom and say , ‘ your daughter used to be so fair and pretty what happened to her skin color , do something otherwise how will you get her married ? ‘, yes that’s what they say to a 12th grader’s mom who happens to only care about her daughter’s higher education in a professional field.  Sad , I know but neither does my mom say anything on their faces nether do I have anything to say about it . After playing tennis for over 6 years under the scorching sun , my skin got sun burned and has become a completely different color than what it once used to be like, but I have no regrets and why should I ? What did I lose anyway? My education , my knowledge , my values or my respect? none of these, right? so how and why the hell should my dark skin matter to me or become a reason for regret in my life?

Beauty comes from deep within the soul of a person , nobody likes a white ice queen with a heart of ice .A wheat skinned girl with a beautiful soul is even more pleasing to the opposite sex, and looking good does not depend on your skin . Go out wearing fluorescent colors and carry them off like a lady, people won’t even notice that you are dark all they will see is a beauty who knows how to carry what she wears and walks with this dignity and self confidence which a color shouldn’t rather can’t steal. Gone are the days where color used to be used as a reason for discrimination and take my word a dark skinned girl can look way more hotter and sexier than a plastic ‘fair’ girl.It’s time we kick this cliche and make this world a bit more respectable.

Otherwise a gun anyone ?

6 responses to “Being ‘fair’ is a cliche.

  1. Take it from a guy, this is absolutely the truth… what really matters is loyalty, education, intellect, presence of mind, lack of negativity, and of course, boobs. lol. jk. physical appearance is overrated. beauty of a person is held in the eye of the seer. 🙂 very well written. u r on a roll, girl 🙂

  2. Yeah, the “fair” factor is kinda pointless. This article is from a girl’s prospective. Hell, being a guy, I was panned for not being as fair as my dad by some illiterate peasants. So, yeah, its kinda pointless.
    Intellect indeed makes conversing with people worth it. It’s an added advantage if they look good too. But that is an ADDED advantage. I am a zombie on this case. Imma be all “Brains, brains!”
    XD

Leave a comment